Is Hope a Miracle or a Coincidence?

Runjhun Noopur
2 min readJun 6, 2020

Day 19 of Project 21 Days of Hope

Source : Pixabay

Ever since I have started this series on hope, I have been finding hope everywhere. And I don’t just mean metaphorically. I have been finding quotes and articles on hope in newspapers and magazines that have been lying around in our house for ages. People who have no idea that this series exists have struck conversation with me about hope. I have come across social media posts, poems by strangers that are all about hope. Even the shows that I have been watching of late seem to have more dialogues and musings about hope than can be deemed coincidental.

I am sure most of it can be explained away with some psychological theory or a version of confirmation bias. Or just good old coincidence. But as Einstein famously said, “‘There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.’ And I, for one, always like to have abundant faith is all sorts of miracles.

I was watching Doctor Who yesterday after ages. It was an old episode I had missed. And keeping with the recent theme, the episode concluded on a note where Doctor says, “That is the thing about hope. It is hard to resist.”

The quote was beautiful. And the timing was immaculate. Hope is hard to resist. Perhaps because it is so easy to find. It is everywhere. All one needs is a will and an intent to find it. And voila, hope will make itself available everywhere.

We can be smart and explain away the coincidence of hope in our life with theories and facts. And it would be the truth. A version of it anyway. But we can also listen to one of the smartest scientists of human kind, and start living our lives in ways that gives miracles a chance. And that too would be no less of a truth.

One doesn’t need to deny miracles and hope to be deemed smart. Sometimes, hope is the smartest choice.

Hope is a miracle whose truth depends on the stories we tell ourselves. And I choose to tell myself the story where I find plenty of hope everywhere I look.

What about you?

Until next time

Don’t resist hope!

Love

--

--

Runjhun Noopur

Author. Entrepreneur. Emotional Sustainability Coach. Founder, Almost Spiritual.